PS5 News Coming Tomorrow, March 18


PlayStation 5 system architect Mark Cerny will reveal a “deep dive” into the PS5 tomorrow, March 18, at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 4pm UK (that’s 3am AEDT on March 19).Announced on Twitter, it looks as though the news will come in the form of a video or livestream, released on the PlayStation blog.

As recently as last week, we’d been saying that Sony’s silence on PS5 had been deafening, and this should go some way towards solving that issue – although Sony hasn’t confirmed exactly what will be discussed in tomorrow’s showing.

As per Nibel on Twitter, a now-removed tweet from PlayStation Japan indicated that this showing was originally part of Sony’s GDC presentations, indicating that this is far more likely to be a technical showcase than an announcement of games, or potentially even a reveal of what the consumer version of the console looks like.

Some of what we officially know about the console right now is that it’s called PlayStation 5, it’s scheduled for release during Holiday 2020, that it will feature a solid state drive to help ease loading times, will support ray tracing, and will be backwards compatible with PS4 games.

There’s more we’ve learned through less official means – patents have seemingly revealed the controller design, someone took pictures of what seems to be the devkit, and a leak may have shown off some of its specs early.This news comes hot on the heels of Microsoft’s reveal of the full Xbox Series X specs yesterday, which also showed off the console’s size, and how its controller had changed.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News, and he still wants PS5 to be a projector stored in the toecap of some cool shoes. Follow him on Twitter.




Link Source: Click Here