Call of Duty: Warzone Won’t Require a PS Plus Subscription (But Will Need Xbox Live Gold)

Call of Duty: Warzone players on PS4 won’t require an active PS Plus subscription to play the new battle royale. Those playing on Xbox One, however, will need to have a current Xbox Live Gold subscription to get involved.Activision confirmed the situation to IGN, explaining that PlayStation Plus is not required to download and play Warzone, although those who do have an active subscription will be able to download the exclusive Warzone Combat Pack for the PS Store. Full details on what the pack contains has yet to be revealed.

The situation does not extend to Xbox players, though, as those on Microsoft’s platform will require an active Xbox Live Gold subscription and there is no Combat Pack equivalent.

Call of Duty: Warzone – Screenshots

Warzone is the new Call of Duty battle royale based on Modern Warfare. Like Black Ops 4’s Blackout mode, it features a huge map made up of both classic COD multiplayer maps and original areas, and the gunplay and combat features from its ‘parent’ game. It’s free DLC for Modern Warfare, but also available as a standalone free-to-play game, too. It goes live for Modern Warfare players at 11am ET / 8am PT / 3pm UK, and is available standalone from 3pm ET / 12pm PT / 7pm UK today.

For more, check out the news of Call of Duty: Warzone’s official reveal, and what was spotted in the early gameplay leak.

Matt Purslow is IGN’s UK News and Entertainment Writer. You can follow him on Twitter.




Link Source: Click Here